Automatically Delete TEMP Folder in Windows (no installs required)

When I use Linux, I love that anything I place in /tmp will be wiped when I shut the system down. Windows, out of the box, doesn’t do this for your %TEMP% folder. Google this, and you’ll find many people advising to install one free tool or another. I am very wary of unnecessary installations on my Windows machines. The advice given here at WindowsForum.org requires no installations. It was meant for Windows XP Pro, but I found today that it worked just as well on my Windows 7 Professional system.

Unlike the fixed /tmp location in Linux, Windows determines the value of %TEMP% and create that folder dynamically at every login. Firefox doesn’t seem to accept %TEMP% as a valid value in browser.download.dir on about:config. Therefore, I

  1. keep a sidebar shortcut to %TEMP% in Windows Explorer, and
  2. select “Always ask me where to save files” in the Downloads section of the General tab of the Options dialog.

That way, it is easy for me to select my %TEMP% folder when downloading in Firefox, as well to access it from Windows Explorer.

Leave a Reply

