Solved Issue with VirtualBox Shared Folders and Lubuntu 13.10 Guest

Yesterday, I upgraded my Ubuntu Gnome 13.04 (64-bit) virtual machine to Lubuntu 13.10. I rely on the VirtualBox Shared Folders feature to keep my git repositories in sync with bare copies on network drives at my workplace. (My Host OS is Windows 7, and my workplace IT infrastructure is Windows-based.)

To my horror, today I discovered I could not access my shared folders from my new Guest OS. I even created a “clean” new Lubuntu 13.10 guest machine, which exhibited the same issue. (Yes, I carefully performed the dance of apt-get update, upgrade, install dkms, install guest additions, and rebooting after each install.) So I knew it wasn’t an issue with the upgrade process.

Then, I remembered that the other day, I saw an Oracle announcement that VirtualBox 4.3.0 had been released. I’m running version 4.2.18. Sure enough, upgrading to the latest VirtualBox, and installing its Guest Additions solved the issue. I’m assuming there have been changes in the Linux Kernel (Ubuntu 13.10 is running the 3.11 kernel) that necessitated updates to Guest Additions.

4 thoughts on “Solved Issue with VirtualBox Shared Folders and Lubuntu 13.10 Guest

  1. Dale, thanks so much for pointing this out. I was happlily using Virtualbox 4.2.16 (AMD64-PC Windows 7) and sharing folders with guest Ubuntu 12.04. I had also installed a virtual guest of Ubuntu 13.10 but just could not get it to mount shared folders. I was banging my head and cursing 13.10 for days, even contemplating trying 14.04 alpha to see if that worked. Then I came across your post ( ! lightbulb moment ! ) and realised that Virtualbox auto update was turned off. I downloaded Virtualbox 4.3.6 and hey presto everything now works as expected, phew, life-saver 🙂

    Cheers Buddy it’s great when stuff works again.

    • I’m glad it helped. I just recently had a very similar thing happen to me again. I just couldn’t seem to upgrade to my Lubuntu 14.04 VM and have Guest Additions find the kernel headers. I thought, “maybe I need to see if there’s an update to VirtualBox”. The updater couldn’t even connect through my company’s firewall, and as a result I was almost a year out of date. Once I downloaded and installed the new version…smooth sailing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

